Italy Internship Guide: Introduction

Interning outside your country is important. When you’re a thousand miles away from your actual work place — the university, the problems attached with it also begin to look trivial, as if you could just dust them off with the flick of your finger. Now that I look back on my own internship in Italy, in the summer of 2016, I realize that I really needed that.

Before leaving for Italy, I had received my results from the previous semester which didn’t turn out really well. They occupied my mind to such an extent that I went into an utter state of despair and hopelessness. It was the end of the world for me. I could already imagine myself getting married to some random man from my country and cooking lentils and rice for him every day, while he made sexist jokes.

635925770926225141-1194700288_britears2

Of course I was being only dramatic about that! When failure hits you in life, you always think of your biggest nightmares becoming true. Travelling however, makes you stronger to face those fears.

When you travel to a different country and actually work there, you meet people that leave their marks on you forever. It’s not like a planned tattoo where you point out a certain design to the tattoo artist. These marks are left on you whether you like it or not, by people whom you had never anticipated to even cross your paths.

Suddenly, you start to develop a taste for coffee when you had once preferred tea instead. Your family realizes that you have stopped biting off your nails and you’ve probably started to joke around more often. Whatever the marks are, they remain carved on your heart forever.

Travelling alone helped me find and get rid of the glitches in my personality. My independence of living away from my family forced me to cook for myself, do my own laundry, and value time.

If you ever plan to intern in Italy at the Scuola Superiore Biorobotics Institute, I’ve made for you a small guide in blogs that follow. By reading these pages, you’re becoming part of a memory that I’ll never forget. In contrast to these two months, the rest of my life seems like a mere background noise.

  1. Visa Application
  2. Internship Documents
  3. Packing and Budget Calculation
  4. Reaching Pontedera
  5. Living in Pontedera
  6. Post-Italy Depression

However, these guide pages are from my own personal perspective that would speak of a female engineering student, who travelled to Italy from Abu Dhabi. Although, I do have high hopes that it would also help students from other countries

Leave a Reply

